I Love Accents

Roger L. Russell, EdD
8 min readNov 29, 2023

I love accents! Actually, it’s not accents per se, that I appreciate. What I love is listening to people speak English with an accent.

Nothing against my UK heritage friends but I’m not referring to your lovely Brit, Ausie, or other accent. In this little reflection I’m thinking of accents of folks speaking English as language learned outside of their birth culture.

To be even more clear…it is much more than just hearing English spoken that was learned as a second, third, or fourth language. What fascinates me is what this simple (or NOT AT ALL SIMPLE) act of communicating in a…

--

--

Roger L. Russell, EdD

I have worked in government, business, secondary education, higher education, and religious/humanitarian aid organizations in the U.S., Europe, and Asia.